If You Prick Us Do We Not Bleed?

Having only been a member of the Lib Dems for a couple of weeks it might seem a bit extreme to some about how I am feeling but I don’t care. I went into this election undecided but knowing deep down how likely it’d be for me to vote Lib Dem. My grandparents have been members for the liberal democrats for many years. Since I’ve been voting, the first time in 2011, I’ve been voting Lib Dem. When I was studying politics for myself before I could vote I always seemed to agree most with the lib dems. So I hurt today after Thursday nights result. And I am allowed to hurt.

After the referendum, almost half of Scotland was in pain. Once again, that is the case. Labour and Liberals alike are hurt with the SNP sweep, since 2000 more people voted against them than for them. But that’s First Past the Post for you.  However what it does show you is how fed up Scotland is with the Westminster way of running things and whilst I still stand by my “No” vote I completely understand the appeal for Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP and I only hope that this brings about some of the change we all so desperately need and want, although some of us have different views on the subject of how to go about getting it.

But allow us to hurt. I am aware of the minority of us who gloated after the referendum and whilst I was not one of them I am so very sorry that it was the case. Especially after the scenes at George Square in September. By all means, celebrate as it is an incredible result for your party but right now the parody twitter accounts and the vicious, cruel and sore “winner” Facebook messages only add to the pain we feel. We have every right to be upset just like you were (and I’m sure still are).

I can be asked all you like if I feel like I’m “pinning my flag to a sinking ship” but you’ll always get the same response from me. No, I do not feel that way. I feel had this general election been run on policies rather than a “Get the tories out” platform in Scotland and a “Vote Tory to stop the SNP” in the rest of the UK we’d have be looking at a completely different political landscape. But with the current state of politics that’s just a pipe dream.

This may be a “once in every 5 years” thing but in Scotland for Labour and the entirety of the UK for the Lib Dems, we need to rebuild our parties. We need to prove we can do what we say and we need to regain people’s faith once more.

Leave a Reply

